OECD Patent Statistics, 1976-2016


Abstract copyright UK Data Service and data collection copyright owner.

The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Patent Statistics are presented in the following tables: Indicators of international co-operation. This dataset presents statistics on Indicators of international co-operation in patents (EPO, USPTO and PCT): where EPO stands for European Patent Office, USPTO for US Patent and Trademark Office and PCT for Patent Cooperation Treaty. Those indicators analyze to cross-border ownership of patents reflecting international flows of knowledge from the inventor country to the applicant countries and international flows of funds for research (multinational companies) and co-inventions representing the international collaboration in the inventive process. Data are divided in terms of Patent office and Triadic Patent families (application filed under EPO, patent grants at the USPTO, patent application filed under the PCT), type of international Cooperation in Patenting (foreign ownership, domestic ownership, percentage of patents invented abroad), reference date (application date, priority date, date of grant) and partner country. Data are presented as annual datapoints from 1976 onwards. The countries covered are Australia, Canada, Japan, Netherlands, United States and the European Union. Patents by main technology and by International Patent Classification (IPC). This dataset comprises statistics on patents by main technology and International Patent Classification (IPC). EPO, USPTO, PCT and Triadic Patent Families are in fact presented according to classes of the International Patent Classification (IPC class up to 4 characters) and for selected technology domains such as ICT, nanotechnology, biotechnology as well as environment-related technologies. Data are presented from 1976 onwards. The countries covered are Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Algeria, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Belarus, Bermuda, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cayman Islands, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Djibouti, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Georgia, Guatemala, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of China, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Korea (Democratic People's Republic of), Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Moldova (Republic of), Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Nigeria, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Singapore, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Zimbabwe, Former Yugoslavia. Patents by regions. This dataset includes statistics on patent counts by regions where EPO and PCT filings are presented according to the region of the inventors/applicants residence (Territorial Level 3), including total patents and selected technology domains such as ICT, nanotechnology, biotechnology as well as environment-related technologies. Reference regions are available by inventor’s country of residence and applicant’s country of residents. Data are presented from 1978 onwards. The data covers some regions in Japan, Finland and Belgium. These data were first provided by the UK Data Service in March 2015.

DOI http://doi.org/10.5255/UKDA-SN-7677-2
Metadata Access https://datacatalogue.cessda.eu/oai-pmh/v0/oai?verb=GetRecord&metadataPrefix=oai_ddi25&identifier=c316ff7e76c7f13312f77060099a92827c7bfab671ef7265278c1511ba317481
Creator Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
Publisher UK Data Service
Publication Year 2015
Rights Copyright Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development; The depositor has specified that registration is not required. Effective July 15th 2015, the UK Data Service made access to OECD online statistics databases free to all users. Please refer to the OECD’s <a href=" http://www.oecd.org/termsandconditions/" title=" Terms and Conditions ">Terms and Conditions</a>.
OpenAccess true
Language English
Discipline Construction Engineering and Architecture; Economics; Engineering; Engineering Sciences; Jurisprudence; Law; Natural Sciences; Physics; Social and Behavioural Sciences
Spatial Coverage Afghanistan; Multi-nation; Albania; Algeria; Andorra; Angola; Antigua and Barbuda; Argentina; Armenia; Aruba; Australia; Austria; Azerbaijan; Bahamas; Bahrain; Bangladesh; Barbados; Belarus; Belgium; Belize; Benin; Bermuda; Bhutan; Bolivia; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Botswana; Brazil; Brunei Darussalam; Bulgaria; Burkina Faso; Burundi; Cambodia; Cameroon; Canada; Cape Verde; Cayman Islands; Central African Republic; Chad; Channel Islands; Chile; China; Colombia; Comoros; Congo; Costa Rica; Croatia; Cuba; Curacao; Cyprus; Czech Republic; Denmark; Djibouti; Dominica; Dominican Republic; Ecuador; Egypt; El Salvador; Equatorial Guinea; Estonia; Ethiopia; Europe; European Union Countries (1993-); Faroe Islands; Finland; France; Gabon; Gambia; Georgia; Germany (October 1990-); Ghana; Gibraltar; Greece; Grenada; Guatemala; Guinea; Guinea-Bissau; Honduras; Hong Kong; Hungary; Iceland; India; Indonesia; Iran; Iraq; Ireland; Isle of Man; Israel; Italy; Jamaica; Japan; Jordan; Kazakhstan; Kenya; Kosovo; Kuwait; Kyrgyzstan; Latvia; Lebanon; Lesotho; Liberia; Lithuania; Luxembourg; Macao; Macedonia; Madagascar; Malawi; Malaysia; Mali; Malta; Mauritania; Mauritius; Mexico; Moldova; Montenegro; Morocco; Mozambique; Namibia; Nepal; Netherlands; New Zealand; Nicaragua; Niger; Nigeria; Norway; Romania; Russia; Rwanda; Saint Lucia; Saint Martin; Saint Vincent; Saotome; Saudi Arabia; Senegal; Serbia; Seychelles; Sierra Leone; Singapore; Slovakia; Slovenia; Solomon Islands; Somalia; South Africa; South Korea; Spain; Sri Lanka; Sudan; Surinam; Swaziland; Switzerland; Tajikistan; Tanzania; Thailand; Togo; Trinidad and Tobago; Turkey; Turkmenistan; Uganda; Ukraine; United Kingdom; United States; Uruguay; Uzbekistan; Vanuatu; Venezuela; Vietnam; Virgin Islands (USA); Zambia; Zimbabwe