OECD Main Science and Technology Indicators, 1981-2019


Abstract copyright UK Data Service and data collection copyright owner.

The Main Science and Technology Indicators database contains 151 main data series selected from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Scientific and Technological Indicators database for 30 OECD member countries and nine non-member countries. The majority of these series provide information on research and experimental development resources, with additional series providing measures of output and the impact of scientific and technological activities. A number of economic series are also included to calculate indicators such as growth rates at fixed prices, research and development expenditures as a percentage of GDP or industrial value added, and series to convert data into a common currency using comparisons at purchasing power parities. These data were first provided by the UK Data Service in March 2004.

Main Topics:

The 151 indicators in the Main Science and Technology database come under the following subject headings:Gross Domestic Expenditure on Research and Development (GERD)Research and Development Personnel (FTE)GERD by source of fundsGERD by performance sectorsResearchers (Headcount)Business Enterprise Expenditure on Research and Development (BERD)Business Enterprise Research and Development Personnel (FTE)BERD by source of fundsBERD by performance sectorsHigher Education Expenditure on Research and Development (HERD)Higher Education Research and Development Personnel (FTE)Government Expenditure on Research and DevelopmentGovernment Research and Development Personnel (FTE)Government Budget Appropriations or Outlays for Research and Development by socio-economic objectives (GBAORD) Research and Development Expenditure of Foreign AffiliatesPatentsTechnology Balance of Payments (TBP)International trade in highly Research and Development-intensive industriesAnnex: Economic series

DOI http://doi.org/10.5255/UKDA-SN-4836-2
Metadata Access https://datacatalogue.cessda.eu/oai-pmh/v0/oai?verb=GetRecord&metadataPrefix=oai_ddi25&identifier=0d97c59bf0b786b900b3597b4e594b290adf6c10cd822cad1e1c7e44b06b2d68
Creator Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
Publisher UK Data Service
Publication Year 2004
Rights Copyright Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development; The depositor has specified that registration is not required. Effective July 15th 2015, the UK Data Service made access to OECD online statistics databases free to all users. Please refer to the OECD’s <a href=" http://www.oecd.org/termsandconditions/" title=" Terms and Conditions ">Terms and Conditions</a>.
OpenAccess true
Language English
Resource Type Numeric
Discipline Economics; Social and Behavioural Sciences
Spatial Coverage Afghanistan; Multi-nation; Albania; Algeria; Andorra; Angola; Antigua and Barbuda; Argentina; Armenia; Aruba; Australia; Austria; Azerbaijan; Bahamas; Bahrain; Bangladesh; Barbados; Belarus; Belgium; Belize; Benin; Bermuda; Bhutan; Bolivia; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Botswana; Brazil; Brunei Darussalam; Bulgaria; Burkina Faso; Burundi; Cambodia; Cameroon; Canada; Cape Verde; Cayman Islands; Central African Republic; Chad; Channel Islands; Chile; China; Colombia; Comoros; Congo; Costa Rica; Croatia; Cuba; Curacao; Cyprus; Czech Republic; Denmark; Djibouti; Dominica; Dominican Republic; Ecuador; Egypt; El Salvador; Equatorial Guinea; Estonia; Ethiopia; Europe; European Union Countries (1993-); Faroe Islands; Finland; France; Gabon; Gambia; Georgia; Germany (October 1990-); Ghana; Gibraltar; Greece; Grenada; Guatemala; Guinea; Guinea-Bissau; Honduras; Hong Kong; Hungary; Iceland; India; Indonesia; Iran; Iraq; Ireland; Isle of Man; Israel; Italy; Jamaica; Japan; Jordan; Kazakhstan; Kenya; Kosovo; Kuwait; Kyrgyzstan; Latvia; Lebanon; Lesotho; Liberia; Lithuania; Luxembourg; Macao; Macedonia; Madagascar; Malawi; Malaysia; Mali; Malta; Mauritania; Mauritius; Mexico; Moldova; Montenegro; Morocco; Mozambique; Namibia; Nepal; Netherlands; New Zealand; Nicaragua; Niger; Nigeria; Norway; Romania; Russia; Rwanda; Saint Lucia; Saint Martin; Saint Vincent; Saotome; Saudi Arabia; Senegal; Serbia; Seychelles; Sierra Leone; Singapore; Slovakia; Slovenia; Solomon Islands; Somalia; South Africa; South Korea; Spain; Sri Lanka; Sudan; Surinam; Swaziland; Switzerland; Tajikistan; Tanzania; Thailand; Togo; Trinidad and Tobago; Turkey; Turkmenistan; Uganda; Ukraine; United Kingdom; United States; Uruguay; Uzbekistan; Vanuatu; Venezuela; Vietnam; Virgin Islands (USA); Zambia; Zimbabwe